Fake Red-Heads

Standard

This is a shout out to all my fellow fake red-heads!

This is bond that I would have never understood until I became a fake red-head.

I’ve been dying my hair red for about a year. (Let me clarify, I was born with red hair, they just forgot to tell my hair. :)) And the best part of it is the instant comeradery that I find with other people that also dye their hair red!

I’ve had lovely conversations with waitresses, baristas, and random people on the street about all the pain and profit that comes from dying your hair red!

“Hey, what dye do you use?”

“I love your hair color!”

“How much do you love being a fake red-head?” “So much!”

“Do you think you will ever go back?” “Never.”

It’s  a laugh.

Hipster moment: Red hair is very in style this season…but I would like to say that my hair was red before those people and I made the decision to de my hair red completely independently of anyone else. Thank you for allowing me to be a bit of a hipster there for a second. I swear, my hair is one of the only things I am hipster about.

I think I am meant to have red hair, because all the movie/book characters that I love and are most like are gingers!

Ariel from the Little Mermaid.

Ron from Harry Potter

Amelia Pond from Doctor Who

Etc.

Going ginger was probably the best thing I ever did. It’s not being fake. I honestly think it’s being true to my identity. I’m not trying to be something I’m not. I have the personality of  a red-head.

Leave a comment